Navajo County Community College District Special Board Meeting Minutes

May 18, 2021 – 9:11 a.m. **Zoom**

Governing Board Member Present: Mr. Everett Robinson; Mr. Elias Jouen; Mr. Derrick Leslie; Ms. Kristine Laughter; Mr. Frank Lucero

Governing Board Member Present by Phone:

Governing Board Member Absent:

Staff Present: Interim President Jeanne Swarthout; Interim Vice President for Learning and Student Services (VPLSS) Mike Solomonson; Vice President for Administrative Services (VPAS) Maderia Ellison; Chief Information Officer (CIO) Scott Estes; Director of Institutional Effectiveness Judy Yip-Reyes; Recording Secretary to the Board Paul Hempsey.

Others Present: Betsy Wilson; Chato Hazelbaker; Donna Krieser; Peggy Belknap; Tamara Osborne; Susan Hoffman; Ann Hess; Amelinda Webb; Rickey Jackson; Lia Keenan; Josh Rogers; Jeremy Raisor; Terrie Shevat; Rebecca Hunt; Allison Landy; David Borofsky; Wei Ma; Robert Johnson; Lauren Maestas; Tammy Gray; Dennis Nichols; Bobbi Sample; Denise Rominger; Gerry Smith; Pat Smith; Kim Belknap; Cynthia Hutton; Brenda Draper.

Agenda Item 1: Call to Order

Chair Lucero called the meeting to order at 9:11 a.m.

Agenda Item 2: Call to Order

Mr. Robinson moved to adopt the agenda as presented. Mr. Leslie seconded the motion. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Robinson, Ms. Laughter, Mr. Leslie, Mr. Jouen, and Chair Lucero voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Agenda Item 3: Action Items

3.A. Request to Approve 2021-22 Primary Property Tax Rate & Levy

Interim President Swarthout, standing in for VPAS Ellison, addressed the Board and reviewed the Request to Approve the 2021-2022 Proposed Tax Rate & Levy.

Chair Lucero noted that the Property Tax Rate was a decrease from the previous year.

Mr. Robinson moved to set the 2021-2022 Primary Property Tax Rate at \$1.7505 generating a levy amount of \$15,955,424, which does not require a Truth In Taxation hearing. The motion was seconded by Mr. Leslie. The vote passed upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Jouen, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Laughter, Mr. Leslie, and Chair Lucero voting in favor. There were no votes against.



3.B. Request to Approve 2021-2022 Proposed Budget

Interim President Swarthout reviewed the request to approve 2020-2021 Proposed Budget with the Board, noting staff recommends approval.

Chair Lucero noted the budget, once adopted, can not increase in the future but could be decreased.

Mr. Jouen made a motion to approve the 2021-2022 Proposed Budget as presented. Mr. Robinson seconded. The vote passed upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Jouen, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Laughter, Mr. Leslie, and Chair Lucero voting in favor. There were no votes against.

3.C. Request to Approve 2022-2024 Proposed Capital Budget

Interim President Swarthout reviewed the request to approve the 2022-2024 Capital Budget stating years 2022-23 and 2023-24 were a guide only and changes could be approved by the Board at a later date.

Mr. Robinson made a motion to approve the proposed 2022-2024 Capital Budget as presented. Mr. Leslie seconded. The vote passed upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Jouen, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Laughter, Mr. Leslie, and Chair Lucero voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Agenda Item 4: Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:20 a.m. upon a motion by Mr. Robinson, a second by Mr. Leslie. The vote passed upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Jouen, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Laughter, Mr. Leslie, and Chair Lucero voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul Hempsey

Recording Secretary to the Board