Navajo County Community College District Governing Board Meeting Minutes

October 13, 2020 – 1:00 p.m. **zoom**

Governing Board Member Present: Mr. Frank Lucero; Mr. Derrick Leslie; Mr. Everett Robinson; Mr. Elias Jouen.

Governing Board Member Present by Phone:

Governing Board Member Absent: Mr. Daniel Peaches.

Staff Present: President Mark Vest; Vice President for Learning and Student Services (VPLSS) Jessica Clark; Vice President for Administrative Services (VPAS) Maderia Ellison; Chief Information Officer (CIO) Scott Estes; Interim Chief Human Resources Officer (CHRO) Peggy Belknap; Recording Secretary to the Board Paul Hempsey.

Others Present: Tiffani Martin: Michael Chance: Denise Rominger: Lori Cormona: Angie King; Jessica Kitchens; Inez Schaechterle; Jennifer Bishop; Deena Gillespie; Michael Broyles; Rhonda Paladino; Tom Hodgkins; Michael Collier; Kevin Jones; Allison Landy; Jeanette Hancock; Natalie Kee; Wei Ma; Rickey Jackson; Karen Baker; Harshika Bhatt; Amelinda Webb; Magda Gluszek; Nicole Hendricks; Marletha Baloo; Daphne Brimhall; Michelle Prentice; Susan Jensen; Eric Bishop; Betsy Wilson; Jackie Pyles; Kurry Klingel; Gail Campbell; Gary Santillanes; Rebecca Hunt; Pat Lopez; Colleen Readel; Renee Freese; Bill Solomon; Melinda Klug; Shawntel Skousen; Susan Hoffman; Melody Niesen; Rich Harris; Philip Bowler; Keith Alsobrook; Tamara Osborne; Karen Zimmerman; Michelle Hunt; Judy Yip-Reyes; Sandy Manor; Rachel Arroyo-Townsend; Ruth Zimmerman; Shandiin Deputee; Frank Pinnell; Paul Moffitt; Julius Marshall; Desirae Silvers; Tamora Van Driel; Elizabeth Oliphant; Ryan Orr; Josh Rogers; Pamela Dominguez; Mike Meeks; Curtis Stevens; Lynn Oldham; Ryan Jones; Anthony Hill; Ann Hess; Jeremy Raisor; Janie Sandoval; Shan Qin; Mike Colwell; Loria Hute; Robert Johnson; Cassie Dows; Terrie Shevat; Glenna Lavoie; Dora Jaquez; Olivia Jaquez; Xander Henderson; Nathan Kosub; James Gil; April Horne; Cynthia Hutton; Brian Gardner; Chantal Kescoli; Chloe Fagotti; Valeria Abeyta; Stacy Ashcraft; Ferryn Sam; Scott Flake; Stephen Valichnac; Josephine Worker; Kipp Welch; Richard Strickland; Ernie Hess; Sammy Harris; Michael Solomonson; Donna Krieser; Mindy Neff; LaTonya Motley; Kara Belin; Dennis Nichols; Andrew Hassard; Dawn Johnson; Gaylene John; Martha Kanteena; Mathew Moore; Candy Wagoner.

Others Present by Phone:

Agenda Item 1: Call to Order

Chair Lucero called the meeting to order at 1:01 p.m.

Navajo County Community College District Governing Board Meeting – 10/13/2020 – Page 1 of 3

Northland Pioneer College

Northland Pioneer College

Post Office Box 610 • Holbrook, AZ 86025 • (928) 524-7311 • Fax (928) 524-7312 • www.npc.edu

Agenda Item 2: Adoption of Agenda

Mr. Robinson moved to adopt the agenda as presented. Mr. Jouen seconded the motion. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Leslie, Mr. Robinson, Mr. Jouen, and Chair Lucero voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Agenda Item 3: Executive Session:

Pursuant to ARS 38-431.03(A)(1) – the District Governing Board may vote to enter Executive Session for Discussion on the President's Contract

At 1:03 p.m. Mr. Jouen made a motion for the Board to go into Executive Session. Mr. Robinson seconded the motion. **The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Jouen, Mr. Robinson, Chair Lucero, and Mr. Leslie voting in favor. There were no votes against.**

At 1:56 p.m. The Board moved back into regular session and adjourned from executive session upon a motion by Mr. Jouen, seconded by Mr. Robinson. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Jouen, Mr. Robinson, Chair Lucero, and Mr. Leslie, voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Agenda Item 4: Potential Board Action on the President's Contract

Mr. Jouen made a motion to accept President Vest's resignation effective Tuesday, October 27th at 5pm, waiving the 90-day notice requirement in his contract and placing President Vest on paid Administrative Leave from 5pm on Tuesday, October 13th. Mr. Jouen further motioned to task the Executive Leadership team to present no less than three and no more than five names for the role of Interim President at a Special Board meeting scheduled for Tuesday, October 27th at 1 p.m. Mr. Jouen also moved that the Interim President be ineligible to apply for the permanent position. Mr. Robinson seconded.

Upon discussion Mr. Jouen amended his motion to state it would be Leadership Council's task to provide the names for Interim President candidates, not the Executive Leadership team and to have the names prepared, with resumes, by Friday, October 23rd. Mr. Robinson reaffirmed his second. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Leslie, Mr. Robinson, Mr. Jouen, and Chair. Lucero, voting in favor. There were no votes against.

The Board members thanked President Vest for his twenty plus years of service to the college, for his leadership, especially during the pandemic, and for everything he has done for students.

President Vest addressed the Board and those present in the audience, thanking the Board for accepting the terms of the resignation when they did not have to and noting that this was entirely his decision, that all Board members tried to talk him out of.

Agenda Item 5: Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 2:09 p.m. upon a motion by Mr. Leslie and a second by Mr. Robinson. The motion carried upon a roll-call vote with Mr. Leslie, Mr. Robinson, Mr. Jouen, and Chair. Lucero, voting in favor. There were no votes against.

Navajo County Community College District Governing Board Meeting – 10/13/2020 – Page 2 of 3

Northland Pioneer College

Northland Pioneer College

Post Office Box 610 • Holbrook, AZ 86025 • (928) 524-7311 • Fax (928) 524-7312 • www.npc.edu

Respectfully submitted,

Paul Hempsey Recording Secretary to the Board

Navajo County Community College District Governing Board Meeting -10/13/2020 – Page 3 of 3

