NAVAJO COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD

Minutes of Regular Meeting

Tuesday, September 20, 2005

Location: District Office – Eagle's Nest 103 First Avenue at Hopi Drive Holbrook, Arizona

MEMBERS PRESENT: Daniel Peaches, Chairman

Neal Thompson, Secretary

Norris Baldwin Bill Jeffers

Dr. Paul Reynolds

OTHERS PRESENT: Ralph Arbogast

Donna Ashcraft Dr. Richard Balsley

Peggy Belknap
Curtis Casey
Gina Ciuffetelli
Leslie Collins
Janet Critser
John Deaton
Shirley Eittreim
Donna Farkas
Dr. Penny Fairman

Marva Fellows Flo Finch
Dr. Richard Fleming Jo Lynn Fox
Heidi Fulcher John C. Gentile
Andrew Hassard Blaine Hatch

Dick Heimann
Rand Henderson
Cindy Hildebrand
Barbara Hockabout
Rose Kreher
Clifton Lewis
Brenda Manthei
Dr. Eric Henderson
Cindy Hildebrand
Rickey Jackson
Michael Lawson
Gary Mack
Pat McCann

Brian McLane Tom Nagle
Suzanne O'Hop Ginger Pahl
Michael Pahl Robert Parnell
Gregory Roberts Everett Robinson
JoAnn Romero Benjamin Schoening

Doug Seely Robert Shaw

Dan Simper Dr. Michael Solomonson

Dr. Jeanne Swarthout Lee Sweetman
Terri Tubbs Mark Vest

Matt Weber

Minutes of September 20, 2005	
District Governing Board Meeting.	2

Chairman Daniel Peaches called the meeting to order at 11:09 a.m. The Board members and the audience participated in the pledge of allegiance led by Neal Thompson. Mr. Peaches welcomed the visitors.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Bill Jeffers moved to adopt the agenda. Paul Reynolds seconded the motion, and the agenda was accepted by a unanimous vote.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On motion made by Norris Baldwin and seconded by Bill Jeffers, the minutes of the regular meeting of August 16, 2005 and the executive session of August 16, 2005 were unanimously approved.

At 11:10 am, Neal Thompson made a motion to recess the regular session and allow the Board to return to the executive session that began during the Study Session. Norris Baldwin seconded the motion and the Board members returned to executive session.

At 1:40 pm, the Board members resumed the regular board meeting and moved directly to the new business.

NEW BUSINESS

C) Request to Accept Grant Funds Awarded Through Arizona Department of Commerce for Nursing Program Assistance

Neal Thompson made the motion to accept the Arizona Department of Commerce grant funds and Bill Jeffers seconded the motion which was unanimously approved.

E) Request to Approve Vendor Vouchers for Payment

Approval of the vouchers for payment was unanimous. Neal Thompson made the motion to approve and Norris Baldwin made the second.

F) Possible Action Regarding Study Session Items "I", "II", and "III"

Bill Jeffers made a motion to accept the resignation of Dr. Fleming pursuant to the Memorandum of Understanding and authorize the Chairman to sign all documents. The motion was seconded by Neal Thompson and the vote was unanimous.

Minutes of September 20, 2005		
District Governing Board Meeting	3	
G) Discussion and Possible Action Conc	cerning President and President's Contract	
The vote was unanimous on a motion by Bill Jeffers and a second by Paul Reynolds to authorize the offer of an interim contract as President to Dr. Gary Passer under the terms of a draft contract effective September 21, 2005. Neal Thompson was authorized to be the signatory for the Board on the contract.		
Mr. Thompson made a motion to table all other items on the agenda. After the second by Paul Reynolds, the vote was unanimous.		
<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>		
The meeting adjourned at 1:50 pm upon a n Baldwin.	motion by Bill Jeffers and a second by Norris	
	Respectfully submitted,	
	Terri Tubbs Recording Secretary to the Board	
	Daniel Peaches Chairman	
	Neal Thompson Secretary to the Board	