Northland Pioneer College College Council Meeting Tuesday, Oct. 23, 2007 NPC District Office Conference Room 10:00am-11:30am

College Council members in attendance: Blaine Hatch, Michael Lawson, Mary Mathias, Cynthia Hutton, Leslie Collins, Frank Pinnell, Russell Dickerson, Beaulah Bob-Pennypacker (late), Mira White

Introduction of members

Blaine Hatch reviewed copy of Procedure 2125—specifically sections related to College Council.

Overview issues raised: need to set term limits for CC members; need to fill vacant positions on CC and Standing Committees; identified responsibility to communicate with the college; set CC regular meeting schedule; Question: where should the CC focus its efforts???

College Council positions: Blaine indicated that Heidi Fulcher had been asked to be CC Chair (and accepted). Blaine approved as Vice Chair. Russell Dickerson and Mary Mathias approved as Co-Recorders. Cynthia Hutton volunteers services as CC member on Employee Relations Standing committee—approved by members present.

Tasks assigned: Mira White to explore possible use of available freeware to foster communication between CC members and to see about possibly posting CC activities on website.

Discussion of possible faculty candidates for standing committees: names thrown out included Andrew Hassard, Kenny Keith, Brian Gardner, Julie Holton, Russell Ott. Frank Pinnell to make appointments.

Regular meeting time of CC set: First Friday of the month on Video I from 1:30pm-3:30pm.

Question: What will CC focus on? Leslie Collins asked if it would be possible to see what the SPASC action plan outlines so that CC can work productively toward same goals. Blaine Hatch to e-mail diagram (triangle) showing relationship between Identified Issues, Actions (Resources) and SPASC. Will e-mail Pillars information. Suggested that CC first look at pillars to get an idea of where to go.

Forms of communication discussed: How can CC communicate with college? Possible to have a section included in President Swarthout's monthly newsletter? Is all-NPC e-mail good way to communicate?

Term lengths of CC members determined:

1 Year

Blaine Hatch, Beaulah Bob-Pennypacker, Michael Lawson, Russell Dickerson, Jerrilyn Tutt, Frank Pinnell

2 Year

Heidi Fulcher, Mary Mathias, Cynthia Hutton, Dianne Samarin, Randy Hoskins, Leslie Collins, Mira White, Peter Parent

Next meeting: November 2